Federal Laboratory Consortium Mid-Continent Region

About the Mid-Continent Region

The Federal Laboratory Consortium Mid-Continent Region (FLC) consists of an area that covers 14 states. The states included are Arkansas, Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, and Wyoming.

There are over 100 federal laboratories within these 14 states. Those laboratories represent a variety of agencies such as the Departments of Agriculture, Defense, and Energy.

The FLC serves as a "matchmaker" by matching federal resources and technologies with private industry needs. These services can include licensable technologies, free technical assistance, partnering opportunities, and special programs such as the Small Business Innovation Research Program. The FLC's goal is to move as many Government technologies as possible into commercial markets.